top of page
ruby

Ruby

Our resident manga expert

Get to know more about Ruby's taste in books below:

More about me

1. A book you thought you were going to like but didn't:

I'm Glad My Mum Died by Jennette McCurdy

2. A favourite book of 2022:

The Bookseller At The End Of The World by Ruth Shaw

3. Your favourite series of all time:

Toilet-Bound Hanako-Kun manga series by AidaIro

4. A book that changed your life:

Woman In The Wilderness by Miriam Lancewood

5. A series that ruined you:

Chainsaw Man manga series by Tatsuki Fujimoto

6. A book with the best first line or quote:

Last line of I'm Glad My Mum Died by Jennette McCurdy: 

"I stand up, wipe the dirt off my jeans, and walk away. I know I'm not coming back." 

My favourite book quote:

"I stand up, wipe the dirt off my jeans, and walk away. I know I'm not coming back."

Currently Reading:

Ink Girls Graphic Novel

By Marieke Nijkamp, Sylvia Bi

“In this vibrant story about the power of the printed word and the strength of found families, every page is bursting with life and detail.” —Ethan Aldridge, creator of the bestselling Estranged

“Fabulous!” —Dan Santat, award-winning author of A First Time for Everything

“Glorious! This empowering read is absolutely unforgettable.” —Ellen Oh, acclaimed author of Finding Junie Kim

Every secret is a story waiting to happen.

From New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp and illustrator Sylvia Bi, this debut middle grade graphic novel celebrates the power that everyone—even those often overlooked—has to create change. In a vibrant city, two girls from very different walks of life join forces to fight censorship and protect the people they love.

Eleven-year-old Cinzia is a printer’s apprentice. She adores Mestra Aronne for taking her in—most guilds don’t have room for apprentices with a crippled leg—and she loves life in the raggedy workshop that smells of paper and printing, where secrets and stories are always circulating. So when Mestra Aronne is imprisoned for publishing accusations against the ruling family, Cinzia will do anything to prove that Mestra Aronne only told the truth.

Elena is the exact same age as Cinzia, but she’s forced to keep to her rooms and garden. To protect her, according to her mother. To protect the city, according to her uncle. Because Elena is not the charming, powerful noble her family wants her to be. According to them, she doesn’t communicate well. She’s too gullible and literal and struggles to understand other people.

After unexpectedly meeting face-to-face, the girls follow a trail of clues through their golden city, drawing supporters and learning more about their home and each other than they ever could have imagined. If one person—no matter how young—can change the course of history, just imagine what a whole flock of them could do.

Bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp and debut illustrator Sylvia Bi have crafted an indelible, vibrant story about finding and using your voice, perfect for fans of Lightfall, Tidesong, and The Prince and the Dressmaker.

Ink Girls Graphic Novel
bottom of page